The Magicians season 6 release date and what can we expect?

The Magicians is based on Lev Grossman’s best-selling novels. Quentin Coldwater, a teenager from Brooklyn, discovered that the magic is real and that the world of his favorite series does exist. Unlike other students, he does not attend a regular college and instead enrolls at Brakebills University. Only through proper education could he improve his skills and become a skilled magician.

But he soon realizes that the application of magic could be as fascinating as his dreams, but on the contrary, the chances of it being deadly also prevail. Although he is not part of a regular college, he is enjoying his college life like any normal teenager. But he still doesn’t feel satisfied because his passion for magic refuses to quench his thirst. His dreams turn out to be more dangerous than expected.

It doesn’t take long for these dreams to turn into nightmares. Quentin realizes that, as real as his favorite series is, his love for magic wouldn’t come easy, and power would come at a terrible price.

Season 1 – Recap

Premiered on December 16, 2015, season 1 consisted of 13 episodes. Here we see Quentin’s arrival at Brakebills University, a school solely devoted to producing skilled magicians. Along with fellow students Alice, Penny, Margo and Eliot, Quentin put his Dunkirk spirit to the test against the threats of the magical world. But, on the other hand, Julia – Quentin’s friend – is rejected from Brakebills.

Season 2 – Recap

With the characters being transported to the magical kingdom of Fillory, the magic seems to fade. But, labeled as kings and queens of the land to boot – can they save magic? Meanwhile, Julia, who is determined to practice magic on her own, exacts revenge on the evil God who attacked her.

Season 3 – Recap

The magic seems to have expired. So this team of amateur magicians must find the seven keys to restore enchantment to all worlds. Eliot and Margo battle the Fillorians and evil fairies exhausted from being tamed by the children of the land.

Season 4 – Recap

The epic quest for the seven keys: But restoring magic comes at a heavy price. Their memories have been erased and now, as non-magical identities, they are defenseless. An invincible monster that escaped the confinement of Castle Blackspire chose Eliot’s body to be its host.

Season 5 – Recap

Here in the final season, we see that the magic has finally been saved but at a horrendous cost. Quentin loses his life to save his friends and the world. Julia, Alice, Eliot, Margo, Penny and the others must now fight all the battles without him. While releasing the magic, the balance swung the other way, resulting in too much. Can they stop him and save themselves without Quentin now?

What can we expect in Season 6?

The disappearance of the protagonist, Jason Ralph, will force the show to take on a new dimension. Although Jason is no longer on the show and Quentin dies on the show, the story could show what happens when we lose someone in our lives. It’s about what exactly our life would be like, knowing that there is a void that cannot be filled no matter who comes in next.

We may have to hold off on this magic until December 15, 2021 for Season 6 to finally reveal the plot.

Brian L. Hartfield